Rooftop Invasion!

Because the Doc has just a little bit more space than I do, she sowed almost all her seeds (from the farm).  It turns out, most of them germinated and now, she has an abundance of lettuce seedlings.  Today, I am the proud adopted gardener of 17 lettuce plants.  But where would I put them?  My tiny balcony is … well… tiny.

Light bulb moment – the rooftop is spacious, gets a lot of sun (and rain).  It’s a bit of a hike to tend it but it really isn’t that much of an issue.

 

IMG_20160629_182812
Neatly arranged. I put the pots on sticks so the plants wouldn’t get heat stroke from the cement and for better drainage especially if it rains.
IMG_20160630_114929
Added the Tomato transplants to the rooftop garden. My 1.5L soda bottle in the background, in case i need to water in pinch. 

At some point I would have to add some kind of netting to keep insects and birds away.  Then, maybe add a small fence to keep the neighbors’ dogs (and their pee/poo) away too.  I’ve also been reading about a drip irrigation system from a bucket or water container.  I will have to consider that if watering becomes challenging.

Leave a Reply

